President of India’s Election, Powers and Salary

The president of India is the Head of State considered as Bhārat ke Rāshtrapati. The Indian president is also the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.

The Constitution of India is the supreme law of India drafted by the leadership of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar for the Country.The Indian constitution was enacted on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950 making India a republic. After that Governor-General were replaced by President of India. Thus the Rajendra Prasad became the first president of republic India.

Do You know :

When Narendra Modi became Prime Minister of India ?

Currently the 13th President of India is Pranab Mukherjee who was elected on 25 July 2012. He also held various posts in the cabinet ministry for the Government of India for example Defense Minister, Finance & Foreign Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission. He is also the first Bengali to be elected as President. Check out list of presidents of India from 1950 to till date.

APJ Abdul Kalam was the former President of India. He is known as Missile Man for his role in India’s military missile program. He while delivering a lecture died on July 27, 2015.

The President of India resides in an house known as the Rashtrapati Bhavan located in Raisina Hill in New Delhi. The Rajendra Prasad was the first president who lived in Rashtrapati Bhavan. There is list of Indian presidents from 1950 to till date. 

How is the president of India elected? 

The president is elected by the elected members of both the house of Parliament that is Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People). After winning elections president take oath in the presence of the Chief Justice of India and in absence Chief Justice of India, by the most senior judge of the Supreme Court. There is list of elected president of India from the independence.

Attention ! Do You 

Wanna Contact Narendra Modi ?

What are the powers of the president?

  1. There is Article 53 in the Constitution of India stats that the powers of president to appoint the Prime Minister of India. The Indian president also appoints the Council of Ministers to aid him and Prime Minister. There is more powers given to president of India by Indian constitution which he/she can use whenever feel need.
  2. The president of India has Executive, Judicial and Legislative powers. The Indian president also empowered with the powers to grant pardons for various punishment.
  3. The president of India has power to make appointment of Governors of States, the Chief Justice, judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts of India, The Comptroller and Auditor General, The Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners, the Attorney General, The Chairman and other Members of the Union Public Service Commission, Vice-Chancellor of the Central University.
  4. The Indian president also empowered with the most important Diplomatic powers. This power make it necessary for prime minister to take approval of President for the any kind of treaties.
  5. The Indian President has Emergency power. There are three types of emergencies that is national, state and financial, under articles 352, 356 & 360.
  6. The President has vested in with Legislative power to help the law making process per the constitution (Article 78 and 86). The President helps both the Houses (the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha) of the Parliament and prorogues them. A bill passed by Parliament of India become a law when it passed or approved by president.
  7. The president of India has power given under Article 143 consult the Supreme Court about the constitutional validity of any issue.


What is the salary of President ?
The Indian president used to get ₹10,000 (US$100) as per the Second Schedule of the Constitution. The first president Rajendra Prasad used to get ₹10,000 salary per month. Currently the president of India are receiving ₹1.5 lakh (US$2,200) as salary. Recently Government of India increased the Salary of President to ₹1.5 lakh. Check out list of vice presidents of India from 1950 to till date.


  1. mananiya p m Sri narendara modi jii bapuji pranam pay lagu jii kesi ho aap kusal mangal me ho aap aap jese p m jii pake me aur mera desh anad ka anubhav karte he aap

  2. aapko meri aur se mere bharat desh vasiyo ki aur se khub kaamn karte he ki aap bharat maa ko viswa guru
    banane ka aapka sakalp jaldi hi pura ho hum aapke satha he bapujii li kamlesh jain 09979191739

  3. hamare gav duma disitik pamchamahal me taluka jambugoda gav duma mokam post duma mota faliya 389390 ye vistar me vikash ange koy bhi karykarta dhayn nahi dete aapni jivan jarurat suvidha me lage rahete he jise gav me koy vikash nahi ho pay 2011 se rajuvat karte he abhi tak nahi pani ki suvidha mili nahi sadak suvidha mili aap aek jacha padtal jaro kare ripot bhi le

Add Comment

Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.